“How to” setup a wordpress blog!

My parents generation seems to think that we, the young people of the world, should know everything there is to know about social media. We have grown up in a world where computers have almost become a basic necessity and so how could we not know everything there is to know about them? Don’t we do most, if not all, our research online? Aren’t we addicted to facebook? Haven’t we substituted the art of letter writing for emails? Aren’t we always connected to the web through our phones? Technically yes, but I still don’t know “how to”…well, a lot of things.

When I actually sit down to think about it, I find the web overwhelming. There are so many possibilities online that I often don’t know where to begin. Like a blog for example, apparently everyone has one, but…where do I blog? how do I blog? why should I blog?

There are countless “how to” videos which try to aid in this chaotic race to learn social media, however many of them are not helpful but long and confusing. One of my Public Relations classes has compiled a list of the best “how to” videos related to social media.

My group decided to investigate “how to setup a wordpress blog”, and we found a great and easy video showing the process, hence my first blog is here on wordpress. 🙂 Check out the video:

The reason why we really liked this “how to” video was because of how incredibly easy it was. Other “how to” videos required you to start setting up a wordpress blog using a different program (programs none of our group had ever heard of) or the videos were almost an hour long! However, this video was so simple! All the steps were described well and shown using a highlighted cursor. The whole video lasted only 5 minutes and covered the whole process from setting up an account at wordpress to posting your first blog.

I never considered using wordpress for my blogging because I have heard many times that it is not as user friendly as other blogging sites and that it is geared for the more avid blogger. However, after watching this video I decided to set up my own blog on wordpress because it looked so easy…and it was! The actual setup process took maybe 2 minutes and soon enough I was ready to post my first blog!

Check out what my other group members had to say about this “how to” video: Kaitlynn’s Blog and Helen’s Blog

PS. Follow me on Twitter 🙂

~ by zofiaszaflarska on January 22, 2010.

4 Responses to ““How to” setup a wordpress blog!”

  1. Great post Zofia! I agree that it is easy and user-friendly to set up a wordpress blog. As I have been digging a bit deeper into my blog http://www.thecivilconcept.wordpress.com, I have felt the confusion that many others experienced. Wouldn’t it be great if there were more ‘How-to’ do everything else in wordpress videos! Perhaps our calling is beckoning.

  2. […] Zofia and Kaitlynn […]

  3. Great post Zofia. Setting up a wordpress blog is very simple and the video we chose makes the process easy to understand. Blogging has become a necessity these days especially within our field to communicate our brands to our publics. As PR practitioners we must also realize the value in following and engaging with other bloggers as their opinions are influential. We can also learn behaviours and opinions of our customers by monitoring their blogging activity. Just some extra thoughts for us to consider as we get deeper into our learning.

  4. […] you would like additional reviews on this ‘How To’ video, please click on my coleagues Zofia and Helen to view their take on this resource. If you are interested in finding out how to do other […]

Leave a Reply

 
