Hot Topic: The iPad invades!

A little about the iPad

Last week, as the world watched on, Apple unveiled their new iPad. This innovative tablet was highly anticipated and is intended to revolutionize current technology. This sexy and sleek multi-touch screen (or as others call it: this iPhone on steroids) has many features. The iPad provides easy access to the web, email, photos, movies, ibooks and more. Its thin and light design includes a huge touch screen, ten hour battery life and Wi-Fi among other things. Although the iPad was rumoured to be VERY highly priced, its $499-$829 price range is actually somewhat affordable and reasonable.

Watch this video for a full overview:

Mixed emotions

With countless reviews, both good and not so good, no one can say how well the iPad will do when it goes up for sale in late March early April. Those with high expectations see the iPad eventually eradicating newspapers and magazines, a revolutionary step for technology. Others however, think it is too similar to both iPhones and laptops to revolutionize anything.

My opinion

What do I think? Well, I’m not sure. I have mixed emotions because as cool and pretty as I think the iPad is (yes I am a girl and I define things by how pretty they are), I can’t imagine myself ever using one :S Perhaps I am a little technologically challenged, something I don’t deny, but I just don’t see what the iPad offers which I can’t get from another device already on the market. I don’t see what the iPad can offer me, which my smartphone and laptop don’t offer me already.

I have no doubt that Apple is only unveiling a certain amount of the iPad for now and keep many amazing features to themselves in order to be able to launch new versions and make even more money in the future. Perhaps these future versions of the iPad will amaze me and I will end up using one on a daily basis, but not for now.

Don’t get me wrong, I think that the iPad will sell like mad, if only because it is a new Apple product. I’m certain that it will be a hit but I just don’t see myself buying one, at least not yet.

Do you see this device revolutionizing technology? Is it as great as it’s made out to be?

~ by zofiaszaflarska on January 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “Hot Topic: The iPad invades!”

  1. Hi, I Loved your blog, I think the Ipad is interesting for people who want to develop SDKs’. The Ipad is a good opportunity because if you are an app developer there are tons of apps you can come up with that are needed. However, I don’t believe it is a revolutionary device, as the Globe and Mail mentioned in their Thursday Jan 28th issue, the downsides are not to be neglected: “the Ipad doesn’t appear to run more than one application at a time “- “lack of Flash player, which limits Internet browsing” – No SD card”.
    It still looks nice though I agree! 🙂

  2. I believe that the Ipad is a fantastic invention, and that your blog describes how it should be used perfectly. I believe that Ipad connects all the apple devices and I think that it will do very well in terms of revenues. Apple also has to keep us constantly entertained with all of these new toys, so I knew that it would only be a matter of time for this new invention!

Leave a Reply

 
